Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: Imaginary

I taught my children how to play pretend. I thought at first that they wouldn’t get it but after several exaggerated act outs, I have instilled it in them.

Once, Caleb was holding a cup from the stacking toy set and I requested for him to make me coffee. He was clueless of what I meant. Then I instructed him to open the cabinet, inside is a dispenser where he can get hot water. Then he approached me while holding the cup and I told him to walk carefully because it’s hot. When he gave me the cup, I acted as if I dropped it and coffee was all over the floor. We then took a towel to wipe the mess.

I remember how much he laughed and liked the new pretend game of dropping the coffee. I was glad he got the idea. From then on, we leveled up to making hot Milo, blowing my birthday cake, eating ice cream, and munching on a spoonful of whatever food it was on their minds.

“Sssh, Yuri’s sleeping”, Caleb told me one afternoon. It wasn’t nap time so I doubted him. “Are you sure?”, I said. Then I checked on his little brother who was wide awake. I told him that he’s joking and he said, “Only pretend.” and giggled.

Kids’ imagination is so broad that sometimes I get startled at what my kids are playing. I’m so glad I was able to teach them the skill of imagination at an early age. It’s a stepping stone to something bigger which when they grow up can take them to places.

Let’s see what other things they can think of in the coming years.

Proud mom,

B
Imaginary

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Imaginary

  1. Imaginary play is one of the greatest things we can teach our kids. My twin boys spent hours play acting various things; scenes from Harry Potter and their own made up plays… I loved listening to them…. “you say…… then I say ….. and then you say…..” their imaginations ran wild! 😃🦉

    Like

Leave a Reply

