Tots'series

First Day High

*posted a day late*

I am here now in my son’s school waiting for his class to finish. It’s his first day and I opted to stay just in case he feels overwhelmed. I don’t want him to feel abandoned so, I made myself available the entire afternoon. I left Yuri to my mom.
I wanted to see him in class – whether he’s participating or just feeling lonely in one corner. Obviously, I couldn’t. He wouldn’t let go of me earlier until the teachers took charge.

I wonder how my child would turn out few years from now. I want him to just be normal. I don’t want him to feel pressured and push himself to study hard just so he excels in class. I don’t want him to slack either. Growing up, my parents just wanted me to pass my subjects. No pressure at all. I just want him to learn proper values, know the basics, and to stand on his own. If eventually, he wants to be a doctor, I’d be more than happy because it’s my frustration. If he wants to be in a corporate world, so be it. If he’s talented enough and wants to join a musical play, then I’ll let him be. His Dad and I will support him all the way.

I hope he isn’t a bully or the one being bullied. Lately, he’s been spanking his brother whenever he thinks he’s done something wrong. Hopefully, he’ll outgrow it. I hope he’s someone who everybody wants to be with. Okay, maybe someone like his father. Between the two of us, he’s the one who’s more outgoing. I just didn’t want to admit it in front of him. Haha.

For now, I want him to live his toddler life to the fullest, meet friends, and just enjoy school as it is. Let’s see where it goes.

Mom of a schoolboy,
B.

Leave a Reply

